Aloo palak gosht

Cooking has taken a back seat in my life. Right now its just Aaira and bits of Zaara. Having my parents down during this time has been such a blessing. Aaira is now 7 weeks old, and we are slowly getting into a routine – but everyday is still different, and I feel much more in control as time passes! We go out more often and we get more time to spend as a family.

Few weeks ago, Mr Z asked me to join him grocery shopping, without the kids, promising we would be back within half an hour. Though I went in anticipation, It was a welcome change. It had been a while since I picked up fresh fruits and veggies and I got the freshest bunch of Palak(Spinach) from the grocery. Im a huge Palak fan,and love it in Dals, salan, currys etc. My mum in law makes an aloo methi gosht and we love it! Its one of those dishes which I never get bored having. This is inspired by that dish, its palak instead of methi(Fenugreek) leaves.

Recipe

Ingredients
1/2kg lamb; cut into bite size pieces
Whole garam masala  (3 cloves, 4 peppercorns, 2 whole cardamoms, 1 inch piece of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon whole cumin seeds)
1 onion; chopped fine
4 small potatoes cut into halves
4 tomatoes
3-4 cloves of garlic
2 inches piece of ginger
4 green chillies; minced
2 teaspoons of coriander and cumin powders
1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
1/2 cup water
1/4 teaspoon garam masala
2 bunches of spinach- approx 3 cups
2 tbspn  oil
salt to taste
Heat the oil in a a pan, add the whole garam masala  (3 cloves, 4 peppercorns, 2 whole cardamoms, 1 inch piece of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon whole cumin seeds).  After they  pop, and add the  onions and cook until transparent(care not to brown).
Add the potatoes and continue to cook until the onions are golden brown, add the lamb and cook until the meat is brown all over.
 Add the tomatoes, garlic and ginger and simmer for 40 minutes.
 Add the spinach, mix and add the water and simmer for a further 20 minutes or until the lamb is cooked.
 Add the garam masala and salt.

This dish is probably the only one I cooked, though I have been baking! taking photographs or any ‘me’ time is scarce, but every time I see my children(wow! I love saying that!) I want time to stop, because I know they will not be my little babies forever! I still remember being with Zaara and know how quickly the first year goes by!

A string of design posts wait to be published from my drafts section, hopefully the coming week. We will also have a project update soon!!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Aloo palak gosht

  1. The Z-Sisters + me – all of us enjoy Palak in any form or manner… So will be the first thing to try this! Enjoy your mommy-hood, take your time – kids grow up too fast:(

  2. Vrinda

    hey what a comeback Dina!Palak’s my fav too!and the combo is too good to resist!just apt for my hardcore non-veggie family! easier to give them their dose of greens this way :-)….more pls…

  3. Vrinda

    your blog is a delight in every way!fabulous pics!

  4. calmyourbeans

    Reblogged this on calmyourbeans.

Leave a Reply

