Changes and a New Sardine recipe

This is a special post…I have started to use WordPress after being totally let down by blogger! I am enjoying the new format, and still learning..so dear fellow foodies,please help me with my baby steps with advice on how to get along. I have to thank @myNappytales for being a complete sweetheart and helping me transfer my previous posts.

 Did’nt I mention earlier? Yes, I tend to be technologically dyslexic, and I’m not ashamed to admit it. I try my best and do admire people who are technologically sound- Dear techies, please be kind! I have like 5 blog posts in editing stage..hope to complete them and post them all soon.. Friends who were kind enough to follow my previous posts, please follow me on this from now on!

I had an amazing week last week – Went to the Atlantis food safari, which I will blog about or rather brag about in my follwoing posts. This had to come first as this is my Mum’s special recipe and Sardine is my favourite fish. And as I do for most of my other recipe, it has my own twist to it- I did not use he kukum star(kudampuli) tamarind, As Mr Z is not a great fan of it! So this is a safe recipe for my Non mallu friends as well

 

The RECIPE- Meen peeravattichathu (Sardines with coconut)

Fish(Small sardines) – use whole if they are small or cut larger ones to two(i used 5 large ones)
Tamarind paste – 1 ounce                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Onion –1medium sized one                                                                                                                                                                                                                             Ginger – 1” piece
Garlic pods – 4 nos
Green chillies – 6 nos or as reqd
Turmeric powder – ½ tsp
Curry leaves – a strand                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Grated coconut – 1/2 cup or as reqd
Salt – As reqd

Pound all ingredients except the fish together, pounding releases the spice within and gives a very rustic taste, It has to form a corase mixture, not a fine paste- this would take 5-10 minutes maximum.Mix this with the fish and move to an earthen pot. add a little water and cook with lid on in slow flame. This dish does not require Oil, as the sardines have natural oil within them. This imparts a lovely flabour to the entire mix, The fish takes only 10-15 minutes to cook, see that it forms a dry mixture, and no water remains.Enjoy with steamed rice!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Changes and a New Sardine recipe

  1. CONGRATS ON SWITCHING OVER TO THE BETTER PLATFORM – YAAAY WORDPRESS!!! 😀

    So glad you switched over, I’m a wordpress advocate myself. Pretty tech-slexic myself, but feel free to ask me questions and I’ll try to answer.

    This sardines recipe is so interesting…whenever someone says sardines, I always think of the canned kinds you have for lunch, never realized they were cooked so elaborately in Kerala!
    I love fish + I love coconut = I love your mom’s recipe.

  2. lekshmy

    Misss it…sssoooo much:(

  3. devi..annie's friend

    hey Dina…this dish is an all time fav. of mine…will def. try your version..waiting for more…:)
    -Devi

  4. I have to admit, the WordPress format looks waaayyyy better. If I had some more technology skills. I’d move too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

